18th Annual Community Awards Nominees

18th Annual Community Awards Nominees

The Meaford Chamber of Commerce is pleased to present the nominees for the Community Awards, for work completed in 2015.


Farmer of The Year Award

For the betterment of agriculture and rural living in the Municipality of Meaford

Sponsor: Earth Power Tractors & Equipment


Albert McLean


Most Improved Business Award

Presented to an existing business that has significantly expanded and/or improved or enhanced the business premises making the community more attractive

 Sponsored by: BrokerLink Insurance


Captain’s Corner Fish & Chips


E & R Bulk Bin


Tourism Award

An award presented to a business with a commitment to local tourism through a welcoming attitude, awareness and promotion of local attractions.


Sponsored by: Third Line Homes


Apple Harvest Craft Show

Coffin Ridge Boutique Winery

Eggcitment Bistro

Meaford International Film Festival

Meaford Red Chairs


Customer Service

Presented to a business that consistently goes out of  its way to provide superior service to its customers.


Sponsored by Knight’s of Meaford


Eggcitment Bistro


Meaford IDA Pharmacy

The Shoe Tree

This & That Vendor’s Market

Tilly’s Café & Bakery

Tullio’s Barber Shop

Simply Unique Flowers & Gifts



Presented to an agribusiness that has invested in sustainable farming practices and has successfully developed innovative products, processes and marketing channels


Sponsored by: TD Canada Trust


Duxbury Cider Company


 Special Merit Award

Presented to a volunteer organization or service club for exceptional effort over the past year that has enhanced the quality of life within our community


Sponsored by: Municipality of Meaford


Second Harvest


The Peter Francis Memorial Award

Presented to an individual who has demonstrated exemplary volunteer leadership over many years and who has made a significant contribution to community development in the Municipality of Meaford. This individual must exhibit strong leadership through example. This is a lifetime achievement award. (Note: this award will not necessarily be awarded each year).


Sponsored by: Meaford Chamber of Commerce


Brian Renken

Jan Chappelle

Joyce Warfe

Lindy Iversen

Mary Bryant

Merry McAfee


Business Owner of the Year

Presented to an owner who has made an outstanding contribution to the Municipality of Meaford. Demonstrates:

  • Leadership within a business.
  • Dedication to the betterment of the whole community
  • Good citizenship
  • Care for the environment
  • Sound employee relations


Sponsored by: Meaford BIA


Bill Evanov, Jewel Radio 99.3FM

Cheryl Fewster, Tim Horton’s

David and Catherine Verburg, Sizzlin Restaurant

Nancy Ellis, Simply Unique Flowers & Gifts

Doris Lajoie, Eggcitment Bistro


We thank all those who took the time to nominate a business, individual, or community group. The awards will be presented on April 9th at the Meaford & St. Vincent Community Centre during the Awards Dinner & Presentation.  Tickets for this wonderful gala event include a catered meal by Christine Collins Catering and are available at the Meaford Chamber of Commerce Office for $55 (including HST).

Posted in News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>