Congratulations Dragons’ Den Meaford Winners!

The Meaford Chamber of Commerce is thrilled to announce the winners of our seventh annual Dragons’ Den Meaford.

The event played to a nearly filled house at Meaford Hall.  Over $26,000 in cash and prizes were awarded by our Dragons and sponsors. All five contestants received valuable prizes but the big winners of the evening were:

1st place: Candice & Michael Ruhl received $3,950 in cash from our dragons. Their business, Candice Ruhl Designs offers beautifully handcrafted sterling silver jewelry for men and women. They look forward to increasing production with the purchase of a 3D printer and building a showroom in downtown Meaford.

For their first place finish, Candice and Michael received a total of $17,525 in cash and prizes.

2nd place: As the second place winner, Zach Hannam took home $3,950 in cash and prizes. Zach is the co-creator and owner of Zaagi Soap Co, offering natural handcrafted soaps from locally grown botanicals.  He looks forward to building his online presence and expanding production from outside his kitchen at home.

The “Audience Choice” award generated a lot of excitement. It was a tough decision this year with all of the contestants bringing great business ideas and presentations to the show. This year our audience choice contradicted our Dragons’ choice and brew master Mark Lewis won $2,004 in cash and prizes for his bold plan to repurpose the old Meaford Fire Hall into a craft brewery.

The Chamber of Commerce thanks all of our contestants, dragons, sponsors and the organizing committee for making this show a model of a local business initiative that creates real results for our local economy.

For more information on how to become a dragon, sponsor, or contestant in next year’s show please contact:

Meaford Chamber of Commerce

1-16 Trowbridge St. W.

Meaford, ON  N4L 1N2




Posted in News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>